The Dragon Disciple – Part 1

I’ve started something new, something daring, something…geeky. I’m a big fan of role playing games. Well that’s inaccurate, only Dungeons and Dragons and only edition 3.5. Holla! Anyway for my next artistic endeavor I’ll be making one of my favorite characters. So I introduce…

Deirdre, The Dragon Disciple!

Defender of the defenseless, kin to the dragons, turner of fate, holder of fortune, leader of men, mother of battle, and the biggest baddest bitch in the land.

So on with it then…

I’ll be making her as a 1:1 scale bust. In short description she looks half-elven, half-dragon. Pointy ears, small nose, scales, horns, etc.

I’ll show you a small pic of some later progress to keep it entertaining. Then into the process.

dragon woman

We’ll get to that point very quickly but first I made a custom mannequin to start on. I made some technical drawings to make the poly-sculpting much easier and so I didn’t end up with a completely lopsided mess.

Making my own foam head allowed for even more customization for the bust. I have a wooden pole sticking through the middle of the bust to keep it attached to the board and steady.

Deirdre will return, so if you have any questions about how I’m making it be sure to ask. Everything I do is a learning process and I’m glad to share.

Leave a Reply

